Travel Report Thailand and Cambodia

How could a 14 day photo trip to Thailand and Cambodia look like?

Our travel report Thailand and Cambodia summarizes our 14 days photo trip from Bangkok via Siem Reap in Cambodia to Phuket. We have chosen the following route:

1.Day: Munich -> Bangkok (Millenium Hilton Bangkok)

2.Day: Bangkok

3.Day: Bangkok -> Siem Reap (Angkor Wat) in Kambodscha (Hotel)

4.-6.Day: Siem Reap / Angkor Wat (The Privilege by Lotus Blanc)

6.Day: Siem Reap -> Bangkok (Millenium Hilton Bangkok)

7.-13.Day: Bangkok -> Phuket (Angsana Laguna Phuket)

14.Day: Phuket -> Bangkok -> Munich

Where to find Thailand and Cambodia?

What you should definitely think about when travelling to Thailand and Cambodia:

National currencies: Thailand = Baht, Cambodia = Riel, but also USD are gladly accepted. In Bangkok credit card payment works everywhere without problems, in Cambodia at least in the hotels and many restaurants. But you should always have enough cash, at least USD.

Visa: You don’t need a visa for Thailand. But for Cambodia you do. However, this can be bought for a fee directly with the entry, at least if one enters with the airplane.

Vaccinations: No vaccinations are required when coming from Germany. However, the standard vaccinations including yellow fever are recommended, and you should also follow the suggestions of the Foreign Office. Malaria prophylaxis applies to Cambodia and northern Thailand, i.e. here, everyone has to decide for themselves whether or not to take malaria prophylaxis.

Clothing: In both countries there are very warm to hot temperatures and at certain times of the year also an extremely high air humidity to which one has to get used to first. Therefore, in any case take airy and also fast drying clothes with you. For evenings, due to the mosquitoes, have long trousers/shirts with you. Due to the air conditioners in the hotels, it is very quickly unpleasantly cool. So also plan for it. As the sun shines during the day, it is recommended to wear a headgear.

Detailed travel report Thailand and Cambodia

Flight from Munich to Bangkok

Day 1: From Munich we travel to Bangkok. Lufthansa flies directly from Germany. Arrived in Bangkok we take an official taxi to the hotel. The “unofficial” taxis should be ignored and you should not be approached. In the taxi itself make sure that the taximeter is running so that there are no discrepancies later.

We check in at the Millennium Hilton. It belongs to the more modern luxury hotels of Bangkok. One should always keep in mind that even the really good hotels in Thailand are very cheap compared to Europe, so one gets a lot for his money.

Royal palace, ride on the Chao Praya and good Asian food

Day 2: The first thing on the programme is a round trip. We want to visit the royal palace. Afterwards we will take a ride on the Chao Praya. Tours in the canoe-like boats can be booked in many places for little money. But one should not fall into the heavily polluted river, even if the local people bath in it.

In the tributaries of the river you can still discover old Bangkok and the narrow boats (you can just about sit next to each other) really get through almost everywhere.

At the end we go to eat fried rice in the streets of Bangkok, which – although very simple – is certainly one of the delicacies of Bangkok.

For the transport within Bangkok we use the famous Tuk Tuks. For those who negotiate a cheap price for the trip, don’t care about insurance and want to have the feeling once in a lifetime that they are seriously risking their lives, we definitely recommend one or more trips. Surprisingly, rarely something happens here, but if it does, then unfortunately very violently.

Flight from Bangkok to Cambodia

Day 3: We have booked the tour to Angkor Wat (approach to Siem Reap) via DERtour You can book here directly from/to Bangkok. Early in the morning we are picked up by a driver at the hotel and half an hour later we are at Suvarnabhumi Airport.

Arrival in Siem Reap / Angkor Wat

The airport of Siem Reap is tiny and during the landing approach one flies all the time over under water rice fields. For a while we wondered if we would make an emergency landing on the water, but then the runway was there at some point.

The entry takes very little time, because first of all one has to clarify the visa formalities. For this the passport is given from one official to the next and every time meticulously looked at. At some point one of them stamps the passport and another one enters something into a PC. The only strange thing was that the PC was not switched on at all. But I could only see that because I had to wait for my wife and so I had the possibility to look at the screen. Anyway, we had now a visa and could enter and the appearance that also in Cambodia everything has its digital order was preserved.

The driver is already waiting and off we go to the hotel

As we leave the building we look for our driver. There’s no driver. In about 50m distance some cambodians are sitting together. One guest after the other is picked up, only we are not. After a while one of the Cambodians gets up, comes over and asks for our names. We are a bit suspicious as he asks in German. Then he pretends to be our driver, identifies himself and explains that he learned German in the GDR and lived there for a year.

Let’s go to the hotel. We stay at The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC. After lunch we are picked up for our first tour and as for all other tourists we first go to the main temple of Angkor Wat. By the way, we can also recommend the following 2 Days Surise Tour from and to Siem Reap.

Angkor Wat, more than 1000 Temple

Day 4: To date, more than 1000 temples have been discovered. There are speculations that up to a million people may have lived in Angkor at the height of the historic kingdom.

When you walk through the many temples, even if you are not very culturally interested, you will realize that you are facing a true human achievement. All temples are different and fascinating in their own way.

PHOTOTIP:

For the temples it is advisable to have a strong wide angle objective with you. There are only a few opportunities to go very far away to get it all. Ideal is 20mm, but a 24-70mm will do of course.

Entering the Tomb Raider Temple of Lara Croft

5th day: Today we go to the famous “Tomb Raider” temple, which is of course only called that by tourists, because Angelina Jolie made it famous with the movie of the same name.

The jungle has clearly taken back what man has wrested from it centuries ago and the way the trees grow here is more than fascinating.

PHOTOTIP:

For this temple, be sure to have a wide angle lens with you, as the jungle takes away a lot of light. Alernative is a high ISO, but this is never the best solution. Optimal here would again be a 20mm f/1.8.

There are many more temples to discover

Our journey goes right through the jungle and again and again new great temples appear. Unfortunately, after several hours one is satiated at some point. Nevertheless, it is an experience, above all, what one gets to see during the trip.

Siem Reap, interesting markets and good restaurants

Back in Siem Reap, we take a Tuk Tuk and drive into the city center, if you want to call it that. Here we visit a market hall and get an idea of where the pigs on the motorcycles were taken to. The restaurants in the city are numerous and you get excellent food.

From Siem Reap to Bangkok

6.Tag: We fly back from Siem Reap to Bangkok.

Phuket, Thailands Holidayarea

Day 7-14: Thai Airways flies several times a day from Bangkok to Phuket and prices are affordable even in the season. Phuket is certainly famous and notorious for its nightlife, but it has much more to offer than that. We stayed at the Hotel Angsana Laguna Phuket, which is located at Bang Tao Beach, a very beautiful beach section. There is also no sex tourism here and you can spend a few quiet, relaxing days with good food and an excellent hotel complex.

The Beach and James Bond Island

But Phuket also has very nice destinations, some of which are unfortunately closed due to overcrowding. “The Beach” (Phi Phi Island) from the movie of the same name with Leonardo the Caprio is one of them as well as “James Bond Island”, where some famous Bond movie scenes (the man with the golden gun) were shot in the 70s. Excursions can be made f.i. book here. Excursions to James Bond Island direct by boat. click here.

Floating Villages and Fishfarming

Besides the famous beaches and islands, discover the original Thailand. This is also possible without any problems. For this purpose many excursions are offered. (Click here).

For example, discover the Floating Villages, which still live from fish and shrimp farming. Really interesting to see how people live and work “on the water”.

FAZIT:

This tour is especially suitable for those who would like to combine a cultural highlight (Cambodia) with a great beach and adventure holiday (Phuket). Those who like it can also spend a few more days in the exciting metropolis of Bangkok, where you can enjoy a sundowner at one of the many rooftop bars in the evening. A really good combination trip, which we can only recommend.

Calendar from our trips?

as of 18,90€, Sizes A2-A5

Which photo equipment for Thailand / Cambodia?

The photo equipment we took with us to Thailand and Cambodia is listed below. Furthermore you have the possibility to order the photo equipment via our Photo-Shop or to request further technical details. There you will also find a lot of extras.

Cameras:
Lenses:

Reisebericht Thailand und Kambodscha

Wie könnte eine 14 Tage Fotoreise nach Thailand und Kambodscha aussehen?

Unser Reisebericht Thailand und Kambodscha faßt unsere 14 Tage Fotoreise von Bangkok über Siem Reap in Kambodscha bis nach Phuket zusammen. Dabei haben wir folgende Route gewählt:

1.Tag: München -> Bangkok (Millenium Hilton Bangkok)

2.Tag: Bangkok

3.Tag: Bangkok -> Siem Reap (Angkor Wat) in Kambodscha (Hotel)

4.-6.Tag: Siem Reap / Angkor Wat (The Privilege by Lotus Blanc)

6.Tag: Siem Reap -> Bangkok (Millenium Hilton Bangkok)

7.-13.Tag: Bangkok -> Phuket (Angsana Laguna Phuket)

14.Tag: Phuket -> Bangkok -> München

Wo liegen Thailand und Kambodscha?

Woran man bei einer Reise nach Thailand und Kambodscha unbedingt denken sollte:

Landeswährungen: Thailand = Baht, Kambodscha = Riel,  aber auch USD werden gern genommen. In Bangkok funktioniert Kreditkartenzahlung überall problemlos, in Kambodscha zumindest n den Hotels und vielen Restaurants. Man sollte aber immer ausreichend Bargeld, wenigsten Dollar dabeihaben.

Visa: Für Thailand benötigt man kein Visum. Für Kambodscha aber schon. Dise kann jedoch gegen eine Gebühr direkt bei der Einreise gekauft werden, zumidest, wenn man mit dem Flugzeug einreist.

Impfungen: Aus Deutschland kommend sind keine Impfungen vorgeschrieben. Es empfehlen sich jedoch die Standardimpfungen inklusive Gelbfieber, zusätzlich Vorschläge des auswärtigen Amtes beachten. Malariaprophylaxe gilt für Kambodscha und Nordthailand, d.h. hier muss jeder für sich abwägen, ob oder ob nicht.

Bekleidung: In beiden Ländern herrschen sehr warme bis heisse Temperaturen und zu bestimmten Jahreszeiten auch eine extrem hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit, an die man sich erstmal gewöhnen muss. Deshalb auf alle Fälle luftige und auch schnell trocknende Kleidung mitnehmen. Für abends, aufgrund der Mücken, lange Hosen/Hemden dabei haben. In den Hotels ist es aufgrund der Klimaanlagen wiederum sehr schnell unangenhem kühl. Also auch dafür planen. Da die Sonne tagsüber recht kräftig scheint empfihelt sich auch eine Kopfbedeckung.

Detaillierter Reisebericht Thailand und Kambodscha

Flug von München nach Bangkok

1.Tag: Von München geht es nach Bangkok. Lufthansa fliegt direkt ab Deutschland. In Bangkok angekommen nehmen wir uns ein offizielles Taxi zum Hotel. Die „inoffiziellen“ Taxis sollte man ignorieren und sich auch nicht ansprechen lassen. Im Taxi selber darauf achten, dass der Taxameter läuft, damit es später keine Unstimmigkeiten gibt.

Wir checken im Millenium Hilton ein. Es gehört zu den moderneren Luxus-Hotels Bangkoks. Man sollte immer im Kopf haben, dass selbst die wirklich guten Hotels in Thailand im Vergleich zu Europa sehr günstig sind, man also sehr viel für sein Geld bekommt.

Königspalast, Fahrt auf dem Chao Praya und gutes asiatisches Essen

2.Tag: Als erstes steht eine Rundtour auf dem Programm. Wir wollen zum Königspalast.

Danach unternehmen wir eine Fahrt auf dem Chao Praya. Touren in den kanuähnlichen Booten kann man an vielen Stellen für wenig Geld buchen. Nur reinfallen sollte man in den stark verschmutzen Fluss nicht, auch wenn die Einheimischen darin baden.

In den Seitenarmen des Flusses kann man noch das alte Bangkok endecken und die schmalen Boote (man kann gerade so zu zweit nebeneinaner sitzen) kommen wirklich fast überall durch.

Zum Abschluss gehen wir in den Strassen Bangkoks noch gebratenen Reis essen, der – auch wenn sehr einfach – sicher zu den Köstlichkeiten Bangkoks gehört.

Für den Transport innerhalb von Bangkok nutzen wir die berühmten Tuk Tuks. Wer einen günstigen Preis für die Fahrt aushandelt, auf Versicherung keinen Wert legt und einmal im Leben das Gefühl haben möchte, sein Leben ernsthaft aufs Spiel zu setzen, dem empfehlen wir definitiv eine oder mehrere Fahrten. Erstaunlicherweise passiert hier selten was, aber wenn doch, dann leider sehr heftig.

Flug von Bangkok nach Kambodscha

3.Tag: Wir haben die Tour nach Angkor Wat (Anflug nach Siem Reap) über DERtour gebucht. Man kann hier direkt ab/bis Bangkok buchen. Früh morgens werden wir im Hotel von einem Fahrer abgeholt und sind eine halbe Stunde später am Flughafen Suvarnabhumi.

Landung in Siem Reap / Angkor Wat

Der Flughafen von Siem Reap ist winzig und während des Landeanflugs fliegt man die ganze Zeit über unter Wasser stehende Reisfelder. Wir hatten uns eine Zeit lang gefragt, ob wir auf dem Wasser notlanden, aber dann war die Landebahn irgendwann da.

Die Einreise dauert en wenig, da man erstmal die Visaformalitäten klären muss. Hierzu wird der Reisepass von einem Offiziellen zum nächsten gegeben und jedesmal akribisch angeschaut. Irgendwann macht dann auch noch einmal einer einen Stempel rein und ein anderer gibt irgendwas in einen PC ein. Das komische war nur, das der PC gar nicht eingeschaltet war. Das konnte ich aber nur sehen, weil ich auf meine Frau warten musste und so die Möglichkeit hatte auf den Bildschirm schauen zu können. Egal, wir hatten jetzt ein Visum und konnten einreisen und der Schein das auch in Kambodscha alles seine digitale Ordnung hat war gewahrt.

Der Fahrer wartet schon und los geht es ins Hotel

Als wir das Gebäude verlassen schauen wir nach unserem Fahrer. Keiner da. In ca. 50m Entfernung sitzen einige Kambodschaner zusammen. Ein Gast nach dem anderen wird abgeholt, nur wir nicht. Nach einer Weile steht einer der Kambodschaner auf, kommt rüber und fragt nach unseren Namen. Wir sind etwas mistrauisch, da er auf deutsch fragt. Dann gibt er sich als unser Fahrer aus, weist sich aus und erklärt er habe deutsch in der DDR gelernt und ein Jahr dort gelebt.

Los geht es ins Hotel. Wir bleiben im The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC. Nach dem Mittagessen werden wir zu unserer ersten Tour abgeholt und wie für alle anderen Touristen geht es erstmal zum Haupttempel von Angkor Wat. Empfehlen können wir hier übrigens für die folgenden Tage auch die 2 Tages Sonnenaufgangstour ab bis Siem Reap.

Angkor Wat, über 1000 Tempel

Tag 4: Bis heute wurden bereits mehr als 1000 Tempel entdeckt. Es gibt Vermutungen, dass in Angkor am Höhepunkt des historischen Königreiches bis zu einer Million Menschen gelebt haben könnten.

Wenn man durch die vielen Tempelanlagen läuft, dann wird einem, selbst wenn man wenig kulturell interessiert sein sollte, klar, dass man hier vor einer wahren Menschheitsleistung steht. Alle Tempel sind unterschiedlich und auf Ihre Art und Weise faszinierend.

FOTOTIPP:

Für die Tempel empfiehlt es sich ein starkes Weitwinkel objektiv dabei zu haben. Es gibt nur wenige Gelegenheiten sehr weit weg zu gehen, um alles drauf zu haben. Ideal sind 20mm, aber ein 24-70mm tut es natürlich auch.

Einmal den Tomb Raider Tempel von Lara Croft betreten

5.Tag: Heute geht es zum berühmten „Tomb Raider“ Tempel, der natürlich nur bei Touristen so heisst, da Angelina Jolie diesen mit dem gleichnamigen Film berühmt gemacht hat.

Der Dschungel hat sich hier ganz klar zurückgeholt was der Mensch ihm vor Jahrhunderten abgerungen hat und die Art, wie die Bäume hier wachsen ist mehr als faszinierend.

FOTOTIPP:

Für diesen Tempel unbedingt ein lichtstarkes Weitwinkel dabei haben, da der  Dschungel viel Licht wegnimmt. Alernative ist eine hohe ISO, aber das ist nie die beste Lösung. Optimal wäre hier wieder ein 20mm f/1,8.

Es gibt noch viel mehr Tempel zu entdecken

Unsere Fahrt geht quer durch den Dschungel und immer wieder tauchen neue großartige Tempel auf. Leider ist man nach mehreren Stunden dann irgendwann übersättigt. Ein Erlebnis ist es trotzdem, vor allem auch, was man während der Fahrt so zu sehen bekommt.

Siem Reap, interessante Märkte und gute Restaurants

Wieder zurück in Siem Reap, nehmen wir uns ein Tuk Tuk und fahren in die Innenstadt, wenn man diese so nennen möchte. Hier besuchen wir eine Markthalle und bekommen eine Idee davon, wohin die Schweine auf den Motorrädern gebracht wurden. Die Restaurants in der Stadt sind zahleich und man bekommt hervorragendes Essen.

Von Siem Reap zurück nach Bangkok

6.Tag: Von Siem Reap geht es jetzt wieder zurück nach Bangkok.

Phuket, Thailands Urlaubsparadies

7.-14.Tag: Thai Airways fliegt mehrfach täglich von Bangkok nach Phuket und die Preise sind selbst in der Saison erschwinglich. Phuket ist sicherlich berühmt und berüchtigt für sein Nachtleben, aber es hat deutlich mehr als das zu bieten. Wir sind im Hotel Angsana Laguna Phuket abgestiegen, welches am Bang Tao Beach, einem sehr schönen Strandabschnitt, liegt. Hier gibt es auch keinen Sextourismus und man kann mit gutem Essen und einer hervorragenden Hotelanlage ein paar ruhige, erholsame Tage verbringen.

The Beach und James Bond Island

Phuket hat aber auch sehr schöne Ausflugsziele, von denen inzwischen leider einige wegen Überfüllung gesperrt sind. „The Beach“ (Phi Phi Island) aus dem gleichnamigen Film mit Leonardo die Caprio gehört ebenso dazu, wie „James Bond Island“, wo in den 70er Jahren einige berühmte Bond Filmszenen (der Mann mit dem goldenen Colt) gedreht wurden. Ausflüge kann man z.B. hier buchen. Ausflüge zum James Bond Island gehen auch direkt per Boot. Hier klicken.

Floating Villages und Fischzucht

Neben den berühmten Stränden und Inseln das ursprüngliche Thailand entdecken. Auch das geht problemlos. Hierzu werden viele Ausflüge angeboten. (Hier buchen).

Zum Beispiel die Floating Villages entdecken, die noch von Fisch – und Garnelenzucht leben. Wirklich interessant anzusehen, wie Menschen „auf dem Wasser“ wohnen und leben.

FAZIT:

Diese Tour eignet sich vor allem für diejenigen, die gerne ein kulturelles Highlight (Kambodscha) mit einem tollen Strand- und Erlebnisurlaub (Phuket) verbinden wollen. Wer es mag kann auch noch ein paar Tage in der aufregenden Metropole Bangkok verbringen, wo man abends den Sundowner auf einer der vielen Rooftop Bars geniessen kann. Eine wirklich gute Kombinationsreise, die wir nur empfehlen können.

Kalender von unseren Fotoreisen bestellen?

​ab 18,90€, Größen von A2-A5

Welche Fotoausrüstung für Thailand / Kambodscha?

Die Fotoausrüstung, die wir nach Thailand und Kambodscha mitgenommen haben, findet Ihr im folgenden aufgelistet. Ausserdem habt Ihr die Möglichkeit die genutzte Fotoausrüstung über unseren Foto-Shop direkt zu bestellen und weitere technische Details abzufragen. Dort gibt es auch noch jede Menge Extras.

Kameras:
Objektive: